MY MAVNI experience - Part I

• Admin

Hello MAVNIs,

Even though MAVNI program is closed, I wanted to share my experience enlisting the US Army through MAVNI program. So when it reopens again, it could help people who are interested in the program and get the idea on how the process is like.

My Background

I am currently a graduate student majoring in Electrical Engineering in NYC. My expected graduation is in Dec 2016. As my graduation was getting closer, I was more worried about my immigration status and working in the US. Since I am married. Immigration was even more complicated. Not only I had to take care of myself but also my family.

How I found out about MAVNI program

In April 2016, I was in the library studying for a test and doing HW. Later, I got tired of studying and went to Craig's list website to take a break. That was when I found out about MAVNI program. Although the post only had a brief description of it, it seemed like an interesting and helpful program. Then I started googling about what it is. After few hours of research, I finally got some idea of what it is but not perfectly. I could not figure out whether I am eligible for MAVNI program. The most confusing part of this program was about having to be a health care professional. I needed more explanation about whether I have to be a health care professional in order to apply for this program.

The main two questions were the followings:

1. Whether I can be on reserve for MAVNI program.
    2. If I have to be a health care professional in order to be qualified.

Calling the recruiter

I wanted more information about MAVNI program. I went to the US Army website and found the contact info for a local office, which was on Chambers St in Manhattan. I called them and asked questions about MAVNI program. The officer answered every question I had and asked me questions to verify my eligibility. Luckily, I was eligible for the program.

I found that